https://pagepressjournals.org/index.php/aiua/issue/feed Archivio Italiano di Urologia e Andrologia 2019-09-21T17:42:34+02:00 Emanuela Fusinato emanuela.fusinato@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <p>The <strong>Archives of Italian Urology and Andrology</strong> publishes papers dealing with the urological, nephrological and andrological sciences. <em>Original Articles</em> on both clinical and research fields, <em>Reviews</em>, <em>Editorials</em>, <em>Case Reports</em>, <em>Abstracts </em>from papers published elsewhere, <em>Book Reviews</em>, <em>Congress Proceedings</em> can be published.</p> https://pagepressjournals.org/index.php/aiua/article/view/aiua.2019.2.130 Klinefelter’s syndrome and taurodontism 2019-09-21T17:42:32+02:00 Emilia Giambersio emilia.giambersio@gmail.com Vincenzo Barile vincenzo.barile@aspbasilicata.it Antonio Marcello Giambersio giambersio@libero.it <p>Objective: Taurodontism is a dental anomaly characterized by an enlarged pulp chamber and apycal displacement of the pulpar floor. The prevalence of taurodontism in normal population is controversial. It has been reported that taurodontism is frequently observed in Klinefelter’s patients. The purpose of this study was to assess the prevalence of taurodontism in a group of Italian Klinefelter’s patients and in a randomly selected male population of Italy and to compare the results with published data. <br>Materials and methods: Digital panoramic radiographs of 16 Klinefelter’s patients and of 100 normal males were retrospectively studied in order to investigate the prevalence of taurodontism in these groups of patients. <br>Results: Taurodont teeth were observed in 2 of the 16 Klinefelter’s patients (12.5%) and in 2 of 100 normal males (2.0%). <br>Conclusions: Our results confirm the higher prevalence of taurodontism in Klinefelter’s patients compared to the normal population (12.5% vs. 2.0%). Due to the wide discrepancy of incidence of taurodontism reported in literature (0.04%-48.0% in normal population; 12.5%-88.0% in Klinefelter’s patients), we conclude that it is not possible to state which is the prevalence of taurodontism in a normal population nor among Klinefelter’s patients.</p> 2019-07-02T16:19:45+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://pagepressjournals.org/index.php/aiua/article/view/aiua.2019.2.125 Relationships between sperm DNA integrity and bulk semen parameters in Bulgarian patients with varicocele 2019-09-21T17:42:33+02:00 Viktor Alargkof valargoff@yahoo.gr Larissa Kersten larissa.kersten@gmail.com Romil Stanislavov rstanik@abv.bg Zdravko Kamenov zkamenov@hotmail.com Panagiotis Nikolinakos pnikolinakos@yahoo.gr <p>Objective: This exploratory retrospective study aimed to compare the level of Sperm DNA Fragmentation (SDF) and investigate its association with bulk semen parameters, for the first time in Bulgarian patients with varicocele, using a distinct methodology. <br>Material and methods: Standard semen analysis was performed according to the 2010 criteria of the European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology - Nordic Association for Andrology (ESHRE-NAFA-2010) and DNA fragmentation was assessed using the Halosperm® kit. The total sample included 28 males: the control group consisted of men with normal genital examination and unknown fertility (n = 10), group one consisted of men with varicocele, normozoospermia and DNA fragmentation &gt; 15% (n = 9) and group two consisted of men with varicocele, abnormal sperm parameters and DNA fragmentation &gt; 15% (n = 9). <br>Results: DNA fragmentation was found to be higher in patients with abnormal sperm parameters (43.78 ± 30.78) compared to the normozoospermic group (21.22 ± 3.93) (p = 0.008). In normozoospermic patients, no statistically significant correlations were observed between SDF and bulk semen parameters. In patients with abnormal sperm parameters, DNA fragmentation exhibited significant very strong negative association with motility (a+b), vitality and typical morphology (p &lt; 0.001). <br>Conclusions: DNA integrity assays could be used for a better evaluation and management of male infertility, particularly in normozoospermic varicocele patients.</p> 2019-07-02T15:56:59+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://pagepressjournals.org/index.php/aiua/article/view/aiua.2019.2.115 A “real life” investigation on the prescriptive habits among Italian andrologists: The “CONSER” survey from Italian Society of Andrology (SIA) on Sildenafil oral film 2019-09-21T17:42:34+02:00 Alessandro Palmieri info@alessandropalmieri.it Mauro Silvani dr.silvani@libero.it Bruno Giammusso bgiammusso@hotmail.it Giovanni Liguori gioliguori33@gmail.com Nicola Mondaini info@nicolamondaini.it Fabrizio Palumbo palumbo.fab@gmail.com Stefano Pecoraro uropec@gmail.com Oreste Risi oreste_risi@asst-bgovest.it Salvatore Sansalone salvatore.sansalone@yahoo.it Fabrizio Ildefonso Scroppo fabrizio.scroppo@asst-settelaghi.it Alessandro Zucchi zucchi.urologia@gmail.com Paolo Verze p.verze@gmail.com Marco Capece drmarcocapece@gmail.com Tommaso Cai ktommy@libero.it <p>Even if oral type 5 phosphodiesterase inhibitors (PDE5i) seem an effective treatment for erectile dysfunction (ED), the drop-out is high among patients. For this reason, pharmaceutical companies are encouraged to develop new administration routes, such as the orally disintegrating film. The aim of this study was to analyse the prescription habit of Italian andrologists affiliated to Italian Society of Andrology (SIA) in the era of new oro-dispersible formulation of sildenafil. A 12-items dedicated questionnaire has been distributed to 77 urologists andrologists. As a result of the questionnaire, sildenafil is still the preferred drug of Italian andrologists as it is considered the safest and the most effective. It combines the speed of action and the discretion of the intake that are very important issues for the adherence to the treatment according to the Italian sample. Physicians have also reported the positive feedback of the patients taking sildenafil film as they consider the oro-dispersible formulation either comparable or superior to the old tablet. In conclusion this new formulation has given a new life to an old molecule like sildenafil, and Italian andrologists considered this new pharmaceutical formulation as a good tool to improve the patient’s adherence to the treatment and quality of life.</p> 2019-07-02T15:22:36+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##