https://pagepressjournals.org/index.php/aiua/issue/feed Archivio Italiano di Urologia e Andrologia 2020-01-22T17:54:57+00:00 Emanuela Fusinato emanuela.fusinato@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <p>The <strong>Archives of Italian Urology and Andrology</strong> publishes papers dealing with the urological, nephrological and andrological sciences. <em>Original Articles</em> on both clinical and research fields, <em>Reviews</em>, <em>Editorials</em>, <em>Case Reports</em>, <em>Abstracts </em>from papers published elsewhere, <em>Book Reviews</em>, <em>Congress Proceedings</em> can be published.</p> https://pagepressjournals.org/index.php/aiua/article/view/aiua.2019.4.269 Detection of significant left renal artery stenosis caused by fibromuscular dysplasia with selective angiography 2020-01-22T17:54:56+00:00 Ramezan Jafari mhmjvbt81@gmail.com Zohreh Rostami mhmjvbt81@gmail.com Mohammad Nikpoor mhmjvbt81@gmail.com Mohammad Javanbakht mhmjvbt81@gmail.com Mohsen Sadeghi Ghahroudi mhmjvbt81@gmail.com Mahbobeh Sadat Hosseini mhmjvbt81@gmail.com Behzad Einollahi mhmjvbt81@gmail.com <p>A 22-year-old female, was referred with a history of a headache and elevated blood pressure without family history of hypertension or familial dyslipidemia. Initially, a spiral computed tomographic angiography of the renal arteries was conducted, demonstrating completely abnormal left renal artery at the medial portion of the vessel with suspicious stenosis, which was supposed to be due to fibromuscular dysplasia (FMD). Subsequently, the patient underwent selective renal angiography and balloon angioplasty. Severe stenosis was observed on the left side and moderate stenosis on the right side in the medial and proximal part of the vessels, respectively. After the diagnosis of FMD, the left side was treated by balloon and finally, the patient was discharged with good control of blood pressure by losartan/amlodipine treatment.</p> 2020-01-14T12:13:17+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://pagepressjournals.org/index.php/aiua/article/view/aiua.2019.4.267 Right open nephrectomy under combined spinal and peridural operative anesthesia and analgesia (CSE): A new anesthetic approach in abdominal surgery 2020-01-22T17:54:56+00:00 Michele Cotugno mikcot88@libero.it Matteo Dallaglio dott.matteo.dallaglio@gmail.com Luca Cantadori lcantadori@ausl.pr.it Fabio Villani fvillani@ausl.pr.it Daniel Martens dmartens@ausl.pr.it Federico Cantoni fcantoni@ausl.pr.it Michele Potenzoni mpotenzoni@ausl.pr.it Salvatore Micali smicali@unimore.it M.C. Bernardo Rocco bernardo.rocco@gmail.com Andrea Prati aprati@ausl.pr.it <p>A case of right open nephrectomy performed under combined spinal and epidural anesthesia and analgesia was presented. This new anesthetic technique gives significant advantages to the patient by avoiding endotracheal intubation with mechanical ventilation and curare administration and by reducing the use of opioids.</p> 2020-01-14T11:51:15+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://pagepressjournals.org/index.php/aiua/article/view/aiua.2019.4.263 Renal autotransplantation: A final option to preserve the kidney after an iatrogenic ureteral injury 2020-01-22T17:54:57+00:00 Napoleon Moulavasilis napomoul@hotmail.com Ioannis Katafigiotis katafigiotis.giannis@gmail.com Dimitris Staios dstaios@yahoo.com Christos Nikolaidis chr.nikolaidis@gmail.com Spyridon Vernadakis svernadakis@yahoo.com John Bokos johnbokos@gmail.com Ioannis Anastasiou ekati2@otenet.gr <p>Background: Ureteral injuries are not very common and can occur after many surgical procedures. Kidney salvage is desirable. Renal autotransplantation is a final option for some cases. In this case, we report an autotransplantation of the kidney after an iatrogenic injury of the ureter with totally extraperitoneal approach.<br>Case report: A 41 years old female underwent left endoscopic ureterolithotomy with holmium laser for ureteral calculi. An iatrogenic ureteral injury, probably ureteral avulsion, occurred. After multiple interventions, she referred to us with a nephrostomy tube. Imaging was performed and left renal autotransplantation was chosen as surgical management. The approach was totally extraperitoneal. No alteration of renal function or of urine outflow was observed during the follow up.<br>Conclusions: The report supports the safety and efficacy of renal autotransplantation.</p> 2020-01-14T10:37:53+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##